Scholarship

Front view of the Eisler House

The scholarship

The City of Leipzig has been awarding the “International Hanns Eisler Scholarship” to outstanding composers since 2019. The central component of the scholarship is a five-month residency in Hanns Eisler’s birth house in Leipzig. During this time, the scholarship recipient is introduced into Leipzig's musical and cultural life through performances, lectures, and, most importantly, through personal contacts. At the end of the five month stay, a work composed by the recipient during this period is premiered in the chamber music series “musica nova” in the Mendelssohn Hall of the Gewandhaus. In addition to living rent-free at the Eisler house, the scholarship includes a monthly allowance of 1000€. Applications are accepted annually each spring.

Scholarship

Current

Ardian Halimi

The jury of the International Hanns Eisler Scholarship has selected Ardian Halimi as the next scholarship holder from the numerous applications. He will live and work in Leipzig for five months from May 2024. His composition "Quartet" for flute, viola, percussion and piano was performed at the award ceremony on 11 October 2023 in the Gewandhaus.



About
Portrait-Foto von Ardian Halimi

The composer

Hanns Eisler in seinem Arbeitszimmer

About the composer

Johannes Eisler was born 6 July 1898 at Gartenstraße 14 (now Hofmeisterstraße 14) in Leipzig, the residence of his maternal grandparents. The ground-floor flat on the left side of the building had five small rooms at the time. Hanns Eisler’s parents, Ida Maria Eisler, née Fischer, and Dr. Rudolph Eisler, a philosopher and student of Wilhelm Wundt, had already moved to Vienna before Eisler’s birth. For the birth of her third child, his mother, and presumably the entire Eisler family, travelled to Leipzig. The family returned to Vienna very soon after the birth but visited Eisler's birthplace on multiple occasions up until 1912.

In 1916, Eisler was drafted into the military; the first surviving compositions also date from the war period. In 1919, he began his studies in counterpoint at the New Vienna Conservatory, but, in the same year, switched to private lessons with Arnold Schönberg, whose pupil he remained until the spring of 1923. In September 1925, Eisler moved to Berlin, where he became increasingly involved in the workers’ movement. In 1929, Eisler met the actor and singer Ernst Busch, who would go on to perform many of his songs at political events. 1929 also marked the beginning of his longstanding collaboration with Bertolt Brecht.

Eisler was forced into exile after the National Socialists’ seizure of power in 1933, spending time in Austria, France, Denmark, England, Spain, Czechoslovakia, and the Soviet Union. In 1935, Eisler also made his first trips to the USA, which, from 1939, would become his new home for ten years. In 1947, Eisler was interrogated by the House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC) in Washington and ultimately expelled from the country in 1948––despite numerous protests by prominent advocates, such as Leonard Bernstein, Charlie Chaplin, Aaron Copland, Albert Einstein, Thomas Mann, and Igor Stravinsky. Eisler arrived in Vienna via London and Prague at the end of March 1948. In 1949, he moved to Berlin (East), co-founding the German Academy of Music (Deutsche Hochschule für Musik) in 1950, where he worked as a composition teacher and conductor and gave master classes until his death on September 6, 1962. This academy bears his name since 1964: Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” Berlin.

International Hanns Eisler Society ↗︎

„He who does not work cannot rejoice."

Hanns Eisler

Stipendium

Frontansicht des Eisler-Hauses

Das Stipendium

Seit 2019 lobt die Stadt Leipzig das „Internationale Hanns-Eisler-Stipendium“ aus. Kern des Stipendiums ist ein fünfmonatiger Aufenthalt in Leipzig, in der Geburtswohnung von Hanns Eisler. In diesem Zeitraum soll der Stipendiatin oder dem Stipendiaten die Gelegenheit gegeben werden, sich in das Leipziger Musik- und Kulturleben einzubringen durch Aufführungen, Lectures und besonders auch durch persönliche Kontakte. Abschluss des Stipendiums bildet die Uraufführung eines in dieser Zeit komponierten Werkes in der Kammermusikreihe „musica nova“ im Gewandhaus. Das Stipendium ist – neben der kostenfreien Wohnung – mit einer monatlichen Zuwendung von 1000€ dotiert. Der Bewerbungszeitraum für das Stipendium ist jedes Jahr im Frühjahr.

Zum Stipendium

Aktuell

Ardian Halimi

Die Jury des Internationalen Hanns Eisler Stipendiums hat aus den zahlreichen Bewerbungen Ardian Halimi als nächsten Stipendiaten ausgewählt. Erwird ab Mai 2024 für fünf Monate in Leipzig leben und arbeiten. Bei der Verleihung des Stipendiums am 11.10.2023 im Gewandhaus erklang seine Komposition „Quartett“ für Flöte, Viola, Schlagzeug und Klavier.



Zur Person
Portrait-Foto von Ardian Halimi

Der Komponist

Hanns Eisler in seinem Arbeitszimmer

Über den Komponisten

Am 6. Juli 1898 wurde Johannes Eisler in der Gartenstraße 14 (heute Hofmeisterstraße 14) in Leipzig geboren. Seine Großeltern mütterlicherseits waren in diesem Haus gemeldet. Die Geburtswohnung Hanns Eislers befindet sich im Parterre links und hatte seinerzeit fünf kleine Zimmer. Hanns Eislers Mutter, Ida Maria Eisler, geborene Fischer und sein Vater, der Philosoph und Wilhelm-Wundt-Schüler Dr. Rudolph Eisler, lebten bereits vor Hanns Eislers Geburt in Wien. Nur zur Geburt ihres dritten Kindes reisten die Mutter und vermutlich die gesamte Familie Eisler nach Leipzig. Nach der Geburt kehrte die Familie sehr bald zurück nach Wien. Bis 1912 war sie jedoch vereinzelt in Eislers Geburtswohnung zu Gast. 

1916 wurde Eisler zum Kriegsdienst in die Armee eingezogen; aus der Kriegszeit stammen auch die ersten erhaltenen Kompositionen. 1919 begann er am Neuen Wiener Konservatorium Kontrapunkt zu studieren, wechselte aber noch im selben Jahr zum Privatunterricht bei Arnold Schönberg, dessen Schüler er bis zum Frühjahr 1923 blieb. Im September 1925 siedelte Eisler nach Berlin über, wo er sich zunehmend innerhalb der Arbeiterbewegung engagierte. 1929 begegnete Eisler dem Schauspieler und Sänger Ernst Busch, der viele seiner Lieder auf politischen Veranstaltungen vortrug. Im selben Jahr nahm auch die langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Bertolt Brecht ihren Anfang. 

Die Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten 1933 zwang Eisler zur Flucht. Abwechselnd hielt er sich in Österreich, Frankreich, Dänemark, England, Spanien, der Tschechoslowakei und der Sowjetunion auf. 1935 unternahm Eisler auch erste Reisen in die USA, die ab 1938 zehn Jahre lang seine neue Heimat sein sollten. 1947 wurde Eisler vom House Committee on un-American Activities in Washington verhört und schließlich 1948 des Landes verwiesen – trotz zahlreicher Proteste so prominenter Fürsprecher wie Leonard Bernstein, Charlie Chaplin, Aaron Copland, Albert Einstein, Thomas Mann und Igor Stravinsky. Eisler gelangte Ende März 1948 über London und Prag nach Wien. 1949 siedelte er nach Berlin (Ost) über. Von der Gründung der Deutschen Hochschule für Musik 1950, zu deren Gründungsmitgliedern er zählte, bis zu seinem Tod am 6. September 1962 arbeitete Eisler als Kompositionslehrer und Dirigent und leitete Meisterklassen. Diese Hochschule trägt seit 1964 seinen Namen: Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin.

Internationale Hanns Eisler Gesellschaft ↗︎

"Wer nicht arbeitet, kann sich auch nicht freuen."

Hanns Eisler